You are currently viewing Parliamentary Internship Programme 2024

Parliamentary Internship Programme 2024

National Democratic Institute, Sri Lanka (NDI), a USA-based NGO, has called for the nomination of final year students and recent graduates of Faculties of Humanities, Social Sciences, Law and Management Studies & Commerce for the internship at various offices and committees of the Parliament of Sri Lanka from 10 universities functioning under the Ministry of Education. This is the 2nd consecutive year this internship program is implemented by the tripartite collaborators; the Office of the Secretary General of the Parliament, NDI and the Ministry of Education.

Seven final-year students and recent graduates (7 out of 10 nominees) from the University of Jaffna were selected by a selection process by the NDI-Sri Lanka and invited for a three-day residential workshop on parliamentary internship from 13th October to 15th October 2023 at Panadura.

Based on the performance of the graduates of the 1st cohort (2023) as interns, the Secretary General of the Parliament and the NDI decided to call for the 2nd cohort of graduates from different faculties of the Sri Lankan universities. The call for nominations was extended to the Faculties of Humanities, Social Sciences, Law and Management Studies of several universities.
Selected students and university coordinators for the Internship Program – 2024 were invited to an inaugural session of the workshop held at Waters Edge Hotel, Battaramulla on 13.10.2023. Hon. Minister of Education and State Minister of Education and other officials of the parliament and dignitaries appreciated the contribution of the young graduates to better functioning of the several offices that contribute to the law-making processes and the overseeing committees led by the Chairs of Committees. They encouraged the interns to contribute to democracy in all possible ways in their own hometowns.

The students who were selected following a comprehensive review of the submitted CVs and Letters of Interest joined their respective offices/committees of the Parliament on 23.10.2023 and will serve a term of 6 months with an allowance of Rs. 75,000 /- per month.

Students Selected for the Internship

Ms. Piriyatharshini LosithakumarManagement Studies and CommerceDepartment of Human Resource Management
Ms. Anista ArulthasanManagement Studies & CommerceDepartment of Financial Management
Ms. Sharon Mathusha ThangavelManagement Studies and CommerceDepartment of Financial Management
Ms.Priyanthini MatheswaranManagement Studies and CommerceDepartment of Human Resource Management
Mr. Dushinthan Sharma (Declined the offer)Management Studies and CommerceDepartment of Commerce
Ms. Selvi KrishnarajaFaculty of ArtsDepartment of Media Studies
Mr. Ramesh MadhushankaFaculty of ArtsDepartment of Media Studies